We are moving and rebuilding this website at the moment, sorry about the mess!

Waikato District Council

The Waikato District Council is the local government authority that covers the smaller, northern part of the Waikato Region. The bounday covers from Hamilton City north, including Raglan in the west, Huntly, Te Kauwhata and Meremere. There is also the separate Waikato Regional Council which services the greater Waikato Region.

Waikato District Council Contact Details

Phone: 07 824 8633

Head Office: 15 Galileo St, Ngaruawahia, Waikato.

24 Hr Hotline: 0800 492 452 – Noise control, emergencies etc

Email: publicenquiries@waidc.govt.nz

There are 3 other offices around the Waikato District in Tuakau, Raglan and Huntly. Please see the councils contact us page for addresses of all offices.

Waikato District Libraries

There are six libraries in the Waikato District: Raglan Library, Tuakau Library, Huntly Library, Meremere Library, Ngaruawahia Library and Te Kauwahta Library. The borrowing of books and resources are free to local residents, as is internet access at each location. Waikato Library locations can be found here. You can even do an online catalogue search.

More about the Waikato District Council

The Waikato Council has 14 elected councillors and 1 mayor who see that the Annual and district plan objectives are met. Around 260 staff are employed full-time in all manner of capacities. The Waikato District Council administers essential local government services including roading, and water resource management. Water management covers waste water, and storm water.

The minimisation of rubbish and waste is a key role for the district council, as well as community facilities. Facilities include the libraries, community centres and parks and reserves. The council also manages noise control, litter and animal control. These services are funded by Waikato District Council rates on all properties in the district.

The Waikato District Council boundary runs from just above Hamilton city, west to Raglan and north to border with Auckland. The population in the district is around 40,000 and includes towns Huntly, Ngaruwahia, Raglan and Tuakau. The area is predominantly farms and related industries. Rural is a great way to describe the district which dosen’t have major urban areas.

Various changes to the district boundaries have occured over the years with Franklin in the north being absorbed into the district. Also, in 2011 part of the district was passed to Hamilton City Council in the south. You can learn more about the Waikato District Council on their website: www.waikatodistrict.govt.nz